Ambassade de la Républic Gabonaise
à Washington, D.C

Bienvenue sur le site officiel de l'Ambassade de la Républic Gabonaise aux États-Unis d'Amérique!

A Brief History

On August 17, 1960, the Republic of Gabon formally achieved its independence from France. During the first post-independence election and under a new presidential system, the primary legislative elections were held in February 1961; the Gabonese Democratic Bloc (Bloc Démocratique Gabonais-BDG) and Gabonese Democratic and Social Union (Union Démocratique et Sociale Gabonaise-UDSG) coalition won all seats in the National Assembly which declared former Vice President Gabriel Leon Mba the first elected president of the Gabonese Republic. Within the same year, the initial constitution was introduced and the guidelines of the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Branches of Government as well as other applicable institutions were explicitly outlined

New Regime

In November 1966, President Leon M’ba appointed Albert Bernard Bongo (also known as El Hadj Omar BONGO-Ondimba) as Vice-President. Following the demise of former President Leon Mba, Vice-President Albert Bernard Bongo became the transitional President until winning the 1967 presidential election. After six consecutive re-elections, there were several modifications made to the constitution under President Bongo’s administration but the most significant amendment to the constitution was adopted in 1991. This restoration of the constitution combined the legal system of the French civil law in conjunction with the Gabonese customary law; the provisions reformed the judiciary as well as reinstated the multiparty system and other key institutions that ensured the stability, prosperity, and protection of the Republic of Gabon and its people.

Continuance of a New Era

As one of the longest-serving Heads of State, President El Hadj Omar Bongo Ondimba remained in power for approximately forty-two years (1967-2009) until his death on June 8, 2009, at the age of 73. In accordance with Article 13 of the Gabonese’s Constitution, vacancy of presidential power is relinquished to the active president of the Senate; Rose Francine Rogombe became the transitional president and also made history by becoming the first female president. During the 2009 presidential election, the citizens of the Republic of Gabon democratically elected its third President, former Minister of Defense Ali Bongo Ondimba. On January 27, 2014, the current Commander in Chief appointed former Professor Daniel ONA ONDO as the new Prime Minister. Prime Minister Daniel ONA ONDO heads the Government which consists of the following: the Council of Ministers who are jointly chosen by the President, the legislative branch of government which is bicameral (members of the Senate 102 seats are elected by the municipal councils and serve a six-year term; National Assembly which embodies 120 deputies who are directly elected by the locals to a five year term) and the Supreme Court which encompasses of the three chambers: Judicial, Administrative and Accounts.

President Ali Bongo Ondimba entered politics in 1981. From 1989- 1991, he became the Minister of Foreign Affairs and a congressman; he also served as Minister of Defense from 1999 to 2009. In July 2009, he was appointed as the official candidate of the Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG) and was democratically elected as President of the Gabonese Republic on August 30, 2009, and was then sworn in on October 16, 2009.

Read More

President Ali Bongo Ondimba President of Gabon

Sylvia Bongo Ondimba became the First Lady of Gabon following the inauguration of her husband as President of Gabon on 16 October 2009. She created the Sylvia Bongo Ondimba Foundation entitled "For the family" in January 2011 "to improve the plight of vulnerable and disadvantaged people around the world."

Read More

Sylvia Bongo Ondimba First Lady of Gabon

  • A Government of Unity and Resolve
  • The Republic of Gabon adopted its constitution on 15 March 1991, mixing a legal system of French civil law and customary law.
  • As a multiparty presidential republic and stable democratic nation, Gabon elects a president to the executive branch of government every seven years.
More About
The Gabonese Republic is located along the Equator in central Africa between the Republic of Congo, Cameroon, and Equatorial Guinea. It also borders the Atlantic Ocean with 885 kilometers of coastline. The terrain comprises of coastal plain, hilly interior, and savanna in the east and south. The climate is always hot, humid and tropical.
Nurturing Motherhood
It is a symbolic representation of the Nation of Gabon and its people. The Mother represents the Country and its institutions which protect, nurture, and educate its citizens. The Infant represents the citizens of Gabon or the Gabonese people; whose obligations are to protect and love one another while respecting and adhering to all existing rules and regulations.
Our Flag
Our FlagGreen, Yellow, and Blue (horizontal stripes): Green symbolizes the equatorial forest, yellow represents the sun and the blue is characterized by Gabon’s 800 kilometers of coastline.